30 Day Winter Blog Challenge, Day 15

Take A Break 

“I am so nervous and I don’t even know if these old folks are going to listen to me!” This conversation is taking place in my head and I am  failing horribly to concentrate at what this Prime minister is saying. I mean his voice is just a sleeping tablet. If this is what they do every year for AU, then its definitely time change things. How I got to attend this year’s African Union is still not clear and worse-off I am going to be addressing all these heads of states and gorvement officials anytime from now.

And that ladies and gentlemen is why we have decided to invite the younger generation. Help me welcome to the podium. Miss Nikki Feathers, well known best selling author,  blogger, motivational speaker and recently nominated by  Forbes Africa as one of the most influential African Woman under 30 ” said PM of Tunisia.

Reality struck as I listened to his introduction. I am here, this it, let me freak out these grannies and granpas. Confidently I stand up and begin to walk to the podium. I hear all my fellow peers cheering me on! Their hype, boost me up and I am so ready to nail this presentation!

Good day to you all leaders in this auspicious room. I am so humbled to stand before you. I never dreamt of such a day as this.

On behalf of   all the millennials in this room. Thank you so much for allowing us to attend this year’s African Union. I am just going to make this fast and get straight to the point of my presentation. I understand you need to rest. Most of you have that tired face thing going on. I hear a few chuckles across the room mostly from my peers. But that doesn’t affect me. If I struck a nerve, well I am about to make it worse. The message I have been tasked to share with you all is that, you all need Take A Break and make room for our generation to take the button stick. We so appreciate the race you ran since colonialism to free us from slavery. You took back the land, you fought for us so that we would be empowered. However of late(meaning the past 35years) your good deeds have lost their meaning because you have become selfish. Selfish with power, freedom, opportunities, growth, exposure etc. You have forgotten about us, our life and future. You are caught up in so much greed that you are forgetting the  people you are  suppose to lead. You might think you know everything but you don’t. Can I ask you something, how many of you have social media handles that you manage own your own without PR officers. No hand goes up! Thank you very much for your honesty and there is nothing wrong. You are suppose to be playing with your grandbabies!  It is on these different platfplatforms that the world see the reality on the ground about our continent. Our prime time news covers nothing compared to what social media delivers. And you don’t know about this because you are so behind on everything and you are slowing us down. Yes you may call us the fast generation but have you taken time to understand us?

Ladies and gentlemen, your excellencies; you have run the race, you fought the good fight. But its time to let go! Pass the button stick on. Trust us to take up from were you left off and do our best to better our contries. We are the new wine. We are fresh, smart, energetic and ready to dominate as a generation. We will definitely need you as advisors and pray warriors as we run the race!

Its time for you to TAKE that Break for good. I open this platform for any questions…..

[So this is how I think, I would address the AU, lol. Your views and comments please!]

 

 

Published by victoriousnikki

100% cool with an amazing sense of humor!!! But very Reserved☺

2 thoughts on “30 Day Winter Blog Challenge, Day 15

Leave a comment